Dr. Carol Hirschmugl

CEO and co-founder

Carol is a co-inventor of the core SafeLi Technology and leads the start up activities. She has extensive expertise in condensed matter physics, has garnered over $5M in external funding and is a full professor in the Department of Physics at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Dr. Marija Gajdardziska-Josifovska

CTO and co-founder

Marija is a co-inventor of the core SafeLi Technology and leads the R&D efforts. She has extensive expertise in nanoscience and nanotechnology and is a Fellow of the Microscopy Society of America. Leadership experience includes Dean of the Graduate School of University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Dr. Marvin Schofield

Senior Project Manager of Operations

Marvin is a condensed matter physicist with 20 years experience in structure and property of materials. He leads the materials synthesis of the new Graphene Monoxide-based materials and characterization of their physical properties.

Dr. Audrey Salazar

R&D Product Designer

Audrey is a chemical engineer with several years of experience in industrial scale-up processes and evaluating intellectual property. She guides chemical engineering aspects of the materials scale-up efforts.

Dr. Xingkang Huang

Battery Engineer

Xingkang is an electrochemical engineer with 10 years of experience who generates anodes with the new materials and test them in batteries for superior electrochemical properties.

Connie Tommerdahl

Financial Specialist

Connie is an experienced entrepreneur with successful exit under her belt, will continue to support our financial operations.

Loren Peterson

Chairman of the Business Advisory Board

Loren has extensive experience in business, as CPA, as serial entrepreneur (including as CEO), and manager/partner of one of the largest private VC funds in Wisconsin. He is an entrepreneurial advisor, founder and CEO of EAS-MKE.

David Dorheim

Member of Business Advisory Board

David is a known battery expert with extensive experience as board chair and member.

Dr. Deyang Qu

Scientific Advisor

Deyang holds an endowed chair in energy storage, and provides SafeLi with access to the Battery Lab where we conduct R&D, and affords scientific guidance and networking with the battery community.

Dr. Junhong Chen

Scientific Advisor

Junhong is currently a professor at the University of Chicago and a Director of Water Research at Argonne National Laboratory. He is also a co-inventor on the foundational SafeLi patent and provides networking and scientific guidance for application of the GmO-based materials in batteries and sensors.